HELP! AR Leading issues

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, Dolomite_Supafly

MDarren

HELP! AR Leading issues

Post by MDarren »

Hey, all,

I need some help. I have been shooting the Lee 312-155 bullets for a few months with GC and have been getting lead marks on my AR flash suppressor. I am also getting a ton of lead around the bolt and the three gas washers. The barrel doesn't show much leading at all as I use HiTek coating. I was originally sizing to .309 but thought maybe the bullets were still too big for my AR-15. I got a .311 sizing die and it still is leading the rifle. I think it may be the lead is simply too soft as I use straight wheel weights and range lead. Is that the issue? What can I add to make it harder? I do quench as I cast. I'm using the rounds for short range plinking 25-50yds. I recently downloaded a lead excel formula, but don't know how hard I should make the bullets on the Brinel scale. I'm using 17 gr of LilGun to get 1972 fps at 2.00 oal as that has been the most accurate load. Again help!!! Thanks.

Tattoo
BJK
Silent But Deadly

Re: HELP! AR Leading issues

Post by BJK »

Antimony and tin are added to harden lead. But beyond that I can't help you.
dellet
Silent But Deadly

Post by dellet »

You're near or over max pressure for the bullet weight, 55,000 PSI, so cast your bullet accordingly. Probably in the neighborhood of 30 BHN.

Then you need to worry about start pressure, speed and twist rate. Here's what happens to a powder coated bullet that is pushed too hard.

The bullet needs to be hard enough to not shear in the rifling. A fast start with a powder like Lil'gun will do that.
300 Blackout, not just for sub-sonics.
excess650
Silent But Deadly

Post by excess650 »

Your alloy might be OK. Are you quenching AFTER applying the Hitek?

I run that bullet with conventional lube over H110 for 1920fps avg across the chrono with no barrel leading, but those bullets are quenched and sized, not subjected to another heat cycle that might anneal them.