New 247 gr HP Help

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, Dolomite_Supafly

Oldphart

New 247 gr HP Help

Post by Oldphart »

Man do I have problems with this mold.
1st cannot get good bullets unless the bullet is frosted, have never had problems like this; been casting 40 years

2nd after casting driving bands are .312 and bore riding portion is 300 - happy with that but there are feathers around the HP portion of the bullet

3rdafter powder coating, shake and bake, the driving band is .318 - .320 and the bore riding portion is .308 - .310 I know this is not good, but I'm new to powder coating and can't believe I'm getting such a thick coating!

I've tried to sizing the bullets, in several steps, before coating but all the sizing I'm doing is distorting the HP. And no trying to get an OAL that will fit in the chamber is useless, because the bore riding portion is way too big.
Oh, and I see I'm going to need to polish the feed ramps. Going from the magazine to the chamber is not working...but I can fix that. :roll:

Thanks for any help, thoughts regarding my casting problems and powder coating problems would be very helpful

Phil
xdmalder
Senior Silent Operator

Re: New 247 gr HP Help

Post by xdmalder »

I can help with some things. It's not a bore rider. It's just the front driving band. I'm sizing with a NOE sizer so I'm pushing the bullets base first into my sizer that would probably help. This mold has to be run hot. Other wise you will not get good fill. I'm bottom pouring with good results but if that isn't working I would start do a pressure pour. It's slower but you will get good fill out. Just make sure you use a fast cadence with the aluminum molds with the hollow points. Otherwise they cool fast. Also when I get my molds I clean them like he says and it helps tremendously. Boil them if dish soap and water. After I started doing that I don't even need to smoke the molds anymore
Oldphart

Post by Oldphart »