SUBSONIC AND SUPERSONIC

Moderators: gds, GunnAmmo

BLACKBEARTRACKS

SUBSONIC AND SUPERSONIC

Post by BLACKBEARTRACKS »

I'm new with my 300 so this may sound like old news to you guys but I've drawn a blank in my research.
If someone put a bullet on the table, how would I be able to determine if it is a subsonic or if it is a supersonic by it's looks?
It is easy to see the difference from the 300 blackout and the 5.56, but so far I don't see it between the two 300's

Steve
SwampDog_13
Silent But Deadly

Re: SUBSONIC AND SUPERSONIC

Post by SwampDog_13 »

You wouldn't be able to tell by looking at the bullet itself as it is neither super nor subsonic.

Enough of my smart assness, I believe your intended question is really about the loaded cartridge and not the bullet alone. Even then you couldn't really draw any conclusions unless you knew how it was loaded. Factory ammo can normally be determined by what grain bullet they are using ie. 110-150ish grain bullets being mostly supersonic ammo and the the 190-240 grain bullets falling into the subsonic load catagory.

This can all be a wash if it is custom ammo as some guys have come up with subsonic loads using as light as 110gr bullets in single shot and bolt action guns. Also a round can be subsonic in one weapon and super in another. I hope this atleast makes it clear as mud for you!
bangbangping
Silent But Deadly

Post by bangbangping »

If it is sitting on a table it is most likely subsonic.
SwampDog_13
Silent But Deadly

Post by SwampDog_13 »

^^ He has a very good point here.
TMD
Silent But Deadly

Post by TMD »

bangbangping wrote:If it is sitting on a table it is most likely subsonic.
Wish I could teach mine to sit. They like to roll all over the place
r.tenorio671
Silent But Deadly

Post by r.tenorio671 »

....simple, you CAN'T