Cycling Problem - Problem now corrected!!!

Moderators: gds, WilsonCombatRep

russ4777
Silent Operator

Cycling Problem - Problem now corrected!!!

Post by russ4777 »

I am new to this cartridge. Having purchased several Wilson Combat barrels in the past with good success in .223, I elected to try your 300 BLK, 16", carbine gas system barrel for my next project gun. I checked the gas port diameter at .106" as received from your factory.

Loaded rounds with 3 different bullet weights all using H110 power. All were supersonic loads at about 90% of max charge per Hodgdon's manual. Thought I'd try the Ares Defense gas piston conversion to see how it worked. It didn't. Short stroked every round. Bolt unlocked but rechambered the spent case with no rounds being ejected from the gun. Converted it back to DI gas system.

Back to the DI gas system, things improved somewhat. I now got 100% ejection of the spent cases but would only strip and chamber next round 4 times in 80 rounds fired. Generally, the bolt would close on an empty chamber. Bolt never locked back after last round or when single loaded. I am using a BCG that has about 500 rounds on it (gas rings are broken in), gas key is tight on the carrier, I have a good fit between the OD of the gas tube and the ID of the gas key, Yankee Hill lo-prof gas block fits nicely on the barrel OD, gas tube to gas block fit is snug with no significant leakage, gas port aligns with GB properly, and BCG is sloppy wet with Mobil 1. I tried a wide variety of mags, same results.

I am contemplating enlarging the gas port in the barrel some to see if I get more energetic cycling. What do you folks think about that? Any suggestions on gas port size?
Last edited by russ4777 on Sun Mar 09, 2014 5:36 pm, edited 3 times in total.
1st Cav Div, B 5/7
Vietnam & Cambodia 1970
QuietMike
Silent But Deadly

Re: Cycling Problem

Post by QuietMike »

What weight buffer are you using?
tallburnedmidget
Silent But Deadly

Post by tallburnedmidget »