Gas Block off center?

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade

gunner-g

Gas Block off center?

Post by gunner-g »

I just received my Noveske 8.5" barrel and I put my upper together last night and I noticed that the gas block seams to be slightly off center compared to my KMR rail. I haven't shot the gun yet but is this a problem?
tfbit
Silent But Deadly

Re: Gas Block off center?

Post by tfbit »

Not if the hole in the block is lined up with the hole in the barrel. If this is a Noveske barrel with factory pinned gas block I wouldn't worry about it. They do all that stuff with jigs. If it shoots it shoots. Also, just how much out of alignment is it?
No matter what you read on the intarweb CCI450s and CCI41s ARE NOT BALLISTICALLY IDENTICAL with H110! I'm also not a intarweb lawyer so I don't argue with anyone who is.
gunner-g

Post by gunner-g »

Just slightly off center. It does have the factory dowel pin installed and it was a little stubborn to install that pin but the set screw looked to be aligned with the mark from the factory. I'll try to get a picture and post it later. Hope to have some ammo to shoot it next week
r.tenorio671
Silent But Deadly

Post by r.tenorio671 »

gunner-g wrote:Just slightly off center. It does have the factory dowel pin installed and it was a little stubborn to install that pin but the set screw looked to be aligned with the mark from the factory. I'll try to get a picture and post it later. Hope to have some ammo to shoot it next week
...the greater concern would be if the gas tube alignment thru the receiver and into the body is off enough that it contacts the gas key opening in such a manner to damage either the gas key or tube...worse yet, both.

Some barrel pins require they be installed from a specific side as it is a tapered pin, not a straight pin. Installation from the wrong side could cause the gas block to shift in the opposite direction from which the pin is being installed.
danner
Silent But Deadly

Post by danner »