Short Stroking with the can in place. Any help appreciated

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade

nhgunnut

Short Stroking with the can in place. Any help appreciated

Post by nhgunnut »

First let me say I am a rookie in this area and thank you in advance for anyone sharing their experience with me.
My upper using 16" CMMG barrel is short stroking with with the a YHM Phantom in place .
The gas system is Carbine length, the load is the Remington 220 grain
The components are as follows.
CMMG 16 inch Barrel w/Carbine length gas system. (gun show grab)
YHM M4 upper (new)
YHM Gas Block/filp sight (re-purposed)
YHM BCM + Bolt (new and appears properly staked)
YHM 7.62 QD Pantom Suppressor
Oly Multi Cal Lower (new)
DPMS LPK (new)
Military Buffer tube
Buffer (used 3 throughout the testing)
After initial assembly ran the gun on three different lower assemblies
First it would eject but not load the next round. After lightening the buffer by one weight and adjusting the gas block it will for the most part load and fire the next round. but still will not lock the bolt back.
My purpose fort his rifle is to run primarily suppressed ( I have a YHM 7.62x39 carbine that runs like a top, so supersonic is a niche I have filled)
Options I am considering after reading other thread and would appreciate your thoughts on
Bob/lighten a spare hammer
Reduced power Spring set (300 fireball kit form Model 1 jumps to mind)
Last before trying a different barrel, cap the existing gas port, then turn the barrel to except a clamp on Micro Gas block at point midway between pistol and carbine length.
nhgunnut

SOLVED SOLVED

Post by nhgunnut »

Ok thanks folks for taking the time to read this.I am Embarrassed by how easy a fix it was/ I was down at a local fun shop When Andrew the rep from Samson walked in. I discussed it with him took it out of the truck, he looked it over. Grabbed a wrench adjusted the alignment on the gas block again, went out back and tested it and it ran like a top.