FN15 pistol w/ Dead Air Nomad-L sub problems

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade

lightfall

FN15 pistol w/ Dead Air Nomad-L sub problems

Post by lightfall »

I have a stock FN15 Pistol (fixed pistol length gas system with 12" barrel, I think a standard buffer spring and weight in the factory configuration) with a Dead Air Nomad-L suppressor. When using various factory subs (S&B, Remington, Fiocchi, 200-220 gr) it will frequently not load the next round, or will half-load the round whereby the bolt is pinching a round that is not in the chamber.

I am new to firearms, suppressors, and this cartridge so I am not sure what the recommended trouble shooting process should be or if there are any suggestions on how to remedy the problem? Your advice is much appreciated.

https://fnamerica.com/products/disconti ... l-300-blk/

https://deadairsilencers.com/silencers/nomad-l/
Tugnut

Re: FN15 pistol w/ Dead Air Nomad-L sub problems

Post by Tugnut »

Sounds undergassed. You may need to pull the gas block and slightly enlarge the gas port.

But first, which mags are you using? I'd make sure you're using 300blk-specific Magpul or Lancer mags. The bigger 30 cal bullets don't always play nice with standard 556 mags.
lightfall

Post by lightfall »

I tried a variety of mags including magpul 556 and magpul 300blk as well as a couple metal ones. It seemed to occur with all of them. At first I thought maybe this was the issue since I had the magpul 556 but it did it with the 300blk one as well.

Given my lack of experience what is the reasoning for the undergassed aspect as the causative mechanism? Is it that the bolt is going back not far enough? Or is the bolt going back too aggressively or fast?

I assumed when FN made this with the short barrel in 300blk that it would be setup for suppressor use with subsonic rounds. Is there a guide on how to pull a gas block and enlarge it? Forgive my inexperience.
dellet
Silent But Deadly

Post by dellet »