Optic for 10.5" AR Pistol

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade

Rpbarry58

Optic for 10.5" AR Pistol

Post by Rpbarry58 »

Looking for input regarding optics choices for a 10.5" pistol build...I'm extremely new to the .300Blk cartridge but I've been shooting AR's since the 1980's. Originally I was going to just grab an Aimpoint PRO off of eBay but then I started looking at optics with BDC reticles as I plan on using subsonics most of the time. So far the choices I've been looking at are:

1. Primary Arms 1-6x24mm FFP scope with ACSS reticle
2. Primary Arms 3x32mm scope with ACSS reticle
3. Holosun HS503G red dot with ACSS reticle
4. Vortex Strike Eagle 1-6x24mm
5. Lucid 4x scope with P7 reticle

As you can see, I'm not looking to spend ACOG money here...I'm not going to be jumping out of helicopters and swimming a mile with this weapon. I just need something that can take some jostling around and perform within the limitations of the cartridge. I'm leaning heavily towards the 2nd or 3rd optics on this list, personally.
cwlongshot
Silent But Deadly

Re: Optic for 10.5" AR Pistol

Post by cwlongshot »

For my mind this only ever will be a close range proposition. A pistol is smaller and lighter and destroyed by a large optic.

IMHO anything about say 2x is wasted here as a 1x red dot with a quility build will allow you accurate shots iut past 200yards!! Its killer up close!

My vote is a quality red dot.

CW
A Bolt, Single Shot and a few M$Rs

Join me on RUMBLE! Https://rumble.com/user/cwlongshot

https://youtube.com/channel/UCBOIIvlk30qD5a7xVLfmyfw

I PROUDLY SUPPORT LAW ENFORCEMENT & OUR TROOPS
BJK
Silent But Deadly

Post by BJK »

Exactly what I was thinking too CW as I was reading his post.

I plan on shooting subsonic or close to it most of the time and my handgun will wear a can most of the time as well, adding to the mass. But even with the can attached my red dot just changes the gun into something more than I wanted, but it's there for a reason.