Deer ammo

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade

ADitom

Deer ammo

Post by ADitom »

Hi.
I'm new to forum. I've been trying to follow posts. I can't seem to find what I'm looking for. Or discussions turn in post.
I have AR rifle 300 blkout 16" barrel 1:7
I setup because of sightmark wraith scope. It is a digital scope that can record my hunts. I have used for coyotes and love to watch the hunts. But it mounts to high on my bolt action rifle.
I will be deer hunting, my field yardage is out too 150. Downward angle shots from blind.
Does anyone have ammo recommendation? I am new to 300blkout.
My bolt action rifle is 700 in .270WIN.

I've been looking at barnes vortx 110 or 120. Fiochhi 125 SST. Per all my research of googling and youtube. Except out of stock everywhere. I did find and bought a box of barnes tac-tx 110g tipped ammo. Or is a higher grain better?

Factory ammo ok? Or I have a friend that reloads. So I have that option to just get bullets and load with him.

Thanks in advance!
BlogSarge
Silent But Deadly

Re: Deer ammo

Post by BlogSarge »

The 110gr Barnes bullets are my preferred.

Check out Gorilla Ammunition, they seem to have loads with the Barnes bullets in stock most of the time.

https://www.gorillaammo.com/product/gor ... round-box/

Happy hunting!
Obi-WanKannoli

Post by Obi-WanKannoli »

So for supersonic ammo, by and large people use the Lehigh controlled chaos, barnes tax tx, nosler (I think green tip), and speer gold dot from what I gather. I'm sure others will chime in with what I have missed.

The name of the game is reliable expansion at low (300blk) velocities with weight / penetration adequate for the game you are after, I'm not sure where you live but I'm sure you know the size of the deer you are after. I know that sounds like "yeah no shit" but with the low velocity of 300 blk it's generally the reason bullets don't perform.
ADitom

Post by ADitom »

Hey.
Yes the gorilla 110gr barnes tac-tx are the one box I bought to try.