Vertical stringing help/advice

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade, bamachem

Sithlord
Silent But Deadly

Vertical stringing help/advice

Post by Sithlord »

Disclaimer - I'm relatively new to reloading. I've reloaded about 1000 (total) 223 + 300BO.

Details:

9" KAK Mr. Blonde, pistol gas port, standard gas block (non adjustable)
SAS Reaper suppressor
1-4x Primary Arms riflescope
Caldwell Lead Sled
Caldwell Chronograph

150 gr Harandy FMJBT
16.0 gr IMR 4227
COAL 2.058
CCI BR-4 primers

All brass is from factory loads (ie, shot at least once); some from new 300 brass, some from 223.
Lee resizing die, NO CRIMP.

I'm getting vertical stringing (see photo). These two strings are 5-shots from roughly 50 yards with 16.0 gr of IMR 4227 (I was also sighting in the riflescope, but each string used the same settings for the 5-round string). But all of the strings had significant vertical stringing (I worked loads up to 17.5 gr in .5 gr increments). Almost no windage variation. Weather conditions were good (no wind). One round out of all of them appeared to keyhole slightly.

3x 5 shot average of 16.0gr 4227 was 1583, 1582, 1594 fps with STDDEV of 16.9, 27.7, 20.6 (respectfully).

I've talked with two different LGS regarding this issue.

One said the STDDEVs were good, and is at a complete loss as to the issue. Advice: remove the suppressor and try again.
One said STDDEVs were bad, velocities were bad, and didn't really offer advice. Suggested that I should get higher velocity out of a 9" barrel than a 16" (which is counter to what I've read here).

Hodgedon Reloading suggests a 1785 fps out of a 16" barrel, but it's a different bullet (IB, not FMJBT). I used load data that was published here (not going to look for it right now).

So, questions for the masses:
1) Are my chronos and STDDEVs good, bad, ok?
2) Any ideas what could be up with the vertical stringing?