coal method question

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade, bamachem

Brody760

coal method question

Post by Brody760 »

hey guys having problems with accurate shooters site so im going to post it here

to start of i have never loaded any supersonic loads only subsonic

im curious about coal can i start from the book and tune my load by slowly making the round longer in say .003 increments longer or will that not have much of a effect on the groups

ive heard to load to max coal that will fit in your mag maybe more info on this since i dont have a coal gauge by hornady if it helps ill be shooting a savage 110 high country and using the 165gr hornady sst so i dont know how long it is safe to load the sst. i just don’t really know that this option will work for me

as i am new to supersonics i would like to stay with the book as much as possible so if loading to the books coal then tuning works please let me know!

Thanks in advance and multiple replies are wanted to get as much info as i can.
Brody760

Re: coal method question

Post by Brody760 »

Brody760 wrote: Tue Dec 13, 2022 10:01 am hey guys having problems with accurate shooters site so im going to post it here

to start of i have never loaded any supersonic loads only subsonic and i will be working with my savage .308

im curious about coal can i start from the book and tune my load by slowly making the round longer in say .003 increments longer or will that not have much of a effect on the groups

ive heard to load to max coal that will fit in your mag maybe more info on this since i dont have a coal gauge by hornady if it helps ill be shooting a savage 110 high country and using the 165gr hornady sst so i dont know how long it is safe to load the sst. i just don’t really know that this option will work for me