New to loading 300 blackout, and rounds won't fit in case gauge

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade, bamachem

GravelRider

New to loading 300 blackout, and rounds won't fit in case gauge

Post by GravelRider »

Hello all, I'm having some trouble with reloading this round.

I'm new to reloading for the 300 blackout, but not new to reloading. I've been reloading for nearly 20 years. The 300 blackout is the first round in which I've ventured into case forming. And it is giving me a run for my money so far.

I'm loading on a Dillon XL650 and Redding T7 turret press. I used the Dillon to decap/form and prime. I then have been hand measuring the loads and using the Redding to seat the bullet and crimp. Eventually I will be using the Dillon exclusively to load once I get things ironed out. I am using Hornady Custom grade dies and a Lee factory crimp die.

Recipe: Berry's Bullets 200 gr .308" plated SP bullets over 11.5 gr CFE BLK. Obviously, I'm loading this for subsonic.

I started with mixed once-fired 556 brass. I dry tumbled in corncob media overnight for a high shine. I sorted the brass according to the good/bad list on this site. I built a jig, and cut down the brass to around 1.370."

I then deprimed and sized/formed the brass.

Then I trimmed the brass to 1.358."

I then dry tumbled again in corncob media, and ensured there was no media stuck in the primer pockets afterward.

Then I checked each piece of brass in a Sheridan slotted case gauge. They all fit with no issues (well, I had to toss about five cases that wouldn't fit out of about at thousand I had formed).

Then I finished loading the rounds, with on average OAL of 2.239."

I lastly test fitted each finished round in the case gauge, and only 2 out of 20 fit!

It appears that the neck is too wide (see picture below), but the neck diameter measures 0.332." This is well within specs.