Acme 265gr with Vihtavuori N110 Load

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade, bamachem

Super8mm

Acme 265gr with Vihtavuori N110 Load

Post by Super8mm »

I am new to QuickLOAD and working up my first try a load in it.

Weapon is a AR with 16” barrel 1:8 twist, no can yet but it is ordered.

Acme bullet is 265 grain and suggest a AOL of 2.12. Powder I am looking at is Vihtavuori N110.
QuickLOAD is saying that the Shot Start Pressure would be 3626 using 7.5 grain of N110 and it would be about 1006fps

Does this look like a good starting point or a disaster waiting to happen?
dellet
Silent But Deadly

Re: Acme 265gr with Vihtavuori N110 Load

Post by dellet »

Start pressure is not something to be concerned with right now. That is the amount of pressure needed to get the bullet moving and is a fixed number based on the type of bullet. If you hover your pointer over the value, it will bring up a table with different pressures to choose for jacketed, solid brass, and such.

What you want to be concerned with is “maximum chamber pressure” keep that under 52,000 for now and you’re very safe. Muzzle pressure will come into play when you start diagnosing cycling problems, and the lower that number is, the quieter the muzzle blast will be.

I would probably bump the charge weight up at least half a grain. It’s a lot easier to drop velocity back down than it is to pound out a bullet stuck in the barrel. You’re also less likely to have cycling problems. No reason to have one more thing to deal with.
300 Blackout, not just for sub-sonics.
Super8mm

Post by Super8mm »

Thanks dellet, that helps a lot. The fields for chamber pressure show yellow if you are in the correct range, it was a white back ground but if you read the popup white means under pressure so I adjusted powder until it turned yellow which is a safe range.