Another Cycling saga…

Discussion about rifles in 300 AAC BLACKOUT (7.62x35mm), hosted by the creator of the cartridge.

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade

Ptrk99

Another Cycling saga…

Post by Ptrk99 »

Hi group,
First post for me after spending a lot of time reading and diagnosing. I am new to the 300Blk round and this is my third AR platform.

The goal: a 300Blk bag gun that I keep suppressed most of the time (still in the waiting period for the Banish 30 suppressor).

The equipment: https://shieldarms.com/sa-15-stripped-lower
and
https://palmettostatearmory.com/psa-7-3 ... l-kit.html

The problem: weapon will not lock back the BCG or strip next round while shooting subsonic ammo (I’ve only tried 3 types; Fiocchi Range Dynamics 220gn 1020fps, Fort Scott 190gr 960fps, and Hornady Sub-X 190gn 1050fps). In a recent range test it did cycle and lock back using Wolf 145gn 1985fps ammo.

Background: Bought this build recently and put it all together with no known issues. Took it to a local outdoor range on a butt-ass cold day to test her out and it was a complete fail. First round would not even fire. Jammed in the chamber and took a little fiddling to get it out. Tried a second round and it fired but stovepiped. Third round jammed in the chamber again. Called it a day and went home.

When I got back to the house I broke it all down and thoroughly cleaned and lubed everything and was able to get a round to fall into the chamber as one might expect. It was still tight but considering that it is new I guess that is to be expected. I then went over to a buddy’s house just to shoot a couple of rounds to figure out where I was and shooting the Fiocchi it fired nicely, ejected the round (I don’t know clock code) but would not lock back or strip next round. So, it was boom, click, cycle charging handle, boom, click, etc….