Please allow me to introduce myself

Discussion about rifles in 300 AAC BLACKOUT (7.62x35mm), hosted by the creator of the cartridge.

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade

BJK
Silent But Deadly

Please allow me to introduce myself

Post by BJK »

I'm a new .300BLK owner of an arm braced AR type handgun that I assembled myself. It sorta worked, but was short stroking, so a 'net search led me here where I learned that there are rifle length buffer springs and carbine length. Removing 3 coils of spring solved the problem and I have 2 carbine length springs on order. :D What a surprise that proper components would make something function correctly, right?

So you folks helped me before you even knew me. Thanks for the information.

My background? I've been shooting for over 50 years, a reloader of SAAMI and wildcat cartridges for close to all of that. I compete in Steel Challenge and USPSA Action Pistol and even at my age do pretty good but more importantly am getting better.

So after I get the proper carbine spring installed I'll get busy working up a supersonic and subsonic load for the gun.

I hope to be an asset to this forum and contribute beyond this 1st post.
Sig220
Silent But Deadly

Re: Please allow me to introduce myself

Post by Sig220 »

Welcome aboard and don't be a stranger! Seems with the heat of the summer or the china virus people are shooting less. Hopefully, it will pick up in the next couple of months!

Shoot safe and have fun!
TRshootem
Silent But Deadly

Post by TRshootem »

Welcome aboard! I also shoot Steel Challenge and USPSA, a 50+ year hand loader and shooter. Recent dumb injury has slowed me down most of last year and then the dreaded Covid stuff came upon us this season. I have built some pistols in BLK and 5.56 and sure enjoy the compact units.

Be well and vigilant :!:

TR
BJK
Silent But Deadly

Post by BJK »

Thanks Gents!