Bullet embedment concern - new to 300 BLK loading, please help.

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade, bamachem

hcb

Bullet embedment concern - new to 300 BLK loading, please help.

Post by hcb »

Hello, folks, I've been handloading rifle/pistol only for 2 months and I've got a concern here without enough experience to allay it. To just get this out there: my concern is how far the bullet seats into the case mouth. More precisely, my concern is how LITTLE it sits into the case mouth. My calculations show the bullet to be embedded (seating depth) only 0.110". That seems very shallow to me.

My first mistake maybe that I had read (and sort of believed) that almost any .308 bullet could be used in the 300 BLK ammunition.

I bought a box each of 100 of: Sierra #2120 (125 gr soft point) and Hornady #3035 (150 gr RN soft point). The Hornady looks like it's really more for the 30-30 carbine rounds. Regardless, the Sierra measures out to about 0.880" and the Hornady very close at about 0.905".

I followed published data from Nosler for 125 gr bullets (and also took measurements from a factory-load). I trimmed cases to 1.368" per the Nosler information (my factory Remington ammo cases measure 1.355". The target COAL is 2.260". After seating the bullet enough to make me feel comfortable it wasn't about to just fall out of the case, I measured my COAL and get 2.138". My math is: 0.880" + 1.368" = 2.248". 2.248" - 2.138" = 0.110". The Sierra bullets do not have a cannelure to crimp in to. The Hornady bullets do, but it's so far up the bullet that my COAL would be about 1.881" (calculated on dimensions). My .223 Rem handloads targeted the same COAL of 2.260" for the 300 BLK, as I recall.