Hornady 125 SST issues.

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade, bamachem

rcmorgan540

Hornady 125 SST issues.

Post by rcmorgan540 »

I got some of these and am not sure what the issue is. I am using 17.2 Grains of Lil Gun. I can't get these things close to the canteloure without blowing out the neck. Here are some photos. The one in the middle is a nosler. I fixed that issue. I was off on the OAL. Any ideas? I am fairly new to reloading, but have loaded thousands of 125 and 220 match kings. I have yet to have an issue with my brass. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Casey

http://www.flickr.com/photos/66223295@N07/10596523334

http://www.flickr.com/photos/66223295@N07/10596549314
randyrucker
Silent But Deadly

Re: Hornady 125 SST issues.

Post by randyrucker »

That is definitely an interesting issue. I would have to guess its a problem with how the brass was formed. I would try with some other source of brass or even some factory brass. It's almost like there is to much neck tension for the bullet going in. Wish I could help more. I've never seen that before.
1slow01Z71
Silent But Deadly

Post by 1slow01Z71 »

Are you chamfering the case mouths? What dies are you using and are you setting them up to provide a roll crimp? What does your ID of the case mouth measure?
Misspelled and missing words delivered to you via the hunt-and-peck method on my phone
talonxracer
Silent But Deadly

Post by talonxracer »

You could have an undersized expander ball creating too much neck tension causing the shoulders to crush or the crimp is starting during the insertion and crushing shoulders. That's all I can think of to check at the moment.
I took an Oath to preserve protect and defend the Constitution, I never took an oath to defend the Govt!!!
rebel
Silent But Deadly

Post by rebel »