Newbie Subsonic Hunting Questions

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade

SSGA

Newbie Subsonic Hunting Questions

Post by SSGA »

Hi All,

I'm new to all this, however here "down-under" in Australia we are not allowed "suppressors or silencing" of any kind (nor semi automatic rifles), so please excuse my ignorance.

I would like to know with the subsonic factory loads available Hornady's 208gn A-max and Remingtons 220gn OEM; what distance are these whitetail buck capable, up to 200m/220yds? We have deer here in Oz that are similar in size, called fallow deer that probably like whitetail live very close to suburbia and eat what they shouldn't etc.

The rifle we have coming and being released "down-under" is the Remington SPS varmint with the 16 1/2" barrel.

I'd really love to hear some feedback and see some autopsy photo's, PLEASE!!

Cheers

SSGA
from - "downunder"
Sometimes being quiet is the loudest statement
azonikcustomz
Senior Silent Operator

Re: Newbie Subsonic Hunting Questions

Post by azonikcustomz »

if you are looking at loaded ammo with the hornady a-max bullets you might want to read the hornady site. the a-max is not intended as a hunting round. took this right off the hornady site.....

AMP Bullet Jackets (Advanced Manufacturing Process).
Best ballistic coefficient possible.
Profile delivers low drag and flat trajectories.
Swaged lead core provides uniformity and consistency.
Unmatched accuracy at long distances.

*Match bullets are not recommended for hunting.
eracer
Senior Silent Operator

Post by eracer »

The bullets you mention do not develop enough velocity to fracture or expand enough in a subsonic loading to reliably deliver enough energy to the target to make them an ethical means of harvesting game animals. A supersonic load, while noisier, is your best option. 125gr Barnes Black Tips seem to be the bullet most talked about, although there are other good choices.