Set me straight!

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade

gunfan2
Silent Operator

Set me straight!

Post by gunfan2 »

I just purchased a SiCo Hybrid to use on my 300 Blackout, it is not user serviceable. If if shoot cast powder coated bullets through it will it lead up the suppressor. I also have a SBR 9 and 45, will cast powder coated bullets lead it up. Can hasn't came in yet, can change my mind!
Photoguy67

Re: Set me straight!

Post by Photoguy67 »

I have no first hand knowledge in this, but I have been reading on it and everyone has stated that power coated cast bullets will NOT lead a silencer.
TMD
Silent But Deadly

Post by TMD »

Can't speak for powder coating because I've never tried it but have been shooting Leatherheads cast bullets with great success. They coat theirs with something called Hi-Tek. So far in the past two weeks I shot about 150 or so through my SBR with an AAC SDN-6 can and have found zero signs of leading in the barrel or can. I even put a few dozen through my Octane 45 can so I could take it apart and inspect it. No signs of leading at all.
gunfan2
Silent Operator

Post by gunfan2 »

TMD wrote:Can't speak for powder coating because I've never tried it but have been shooting Leatherheads cast bullets with great success. They coat theirs with something called Hi-Tek. So far in the past two weeks I shot about 150 or so through my SBR with an AAC SDN-6 can and have found zero signs of leading in the barrel or can. I even put a few dozen through my Octane 45 can so I could take it apart and inspect it. No signs of leading at all.
Do you think the SiCo Hybrid will then be a good choice for shooting coated bullets, although it is incapable of being taken apart! By the way have shot several hundred through my SBR powder coated with absolutely no signs of leading. Very accurate (in 9mm)!
TMD
Silent But Deadly

Post by TMD »

gunfan2 wrote: