Desperately seeking subsonic cycling - new guy.

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade

Westerly

Desperately seeking subsonic cycling - new guy.

Post by Westerly »

I’m new to the 300 AAC Blackout. After painstakingly developing a subsonic load for .223 and asking myself “why bother?”, I finally got the right caliber. I received my cheapo entry-level AR (S&W M&P15) the night before last. Made various loads with once fired Remington brass (w/300 Blackout headstamps). I wished to use A1680 powder, but I’m stuck using the pistol powders on hand due to temporary lack of availability (of any component whatsoever). The recipes found for powder I have included: IMR 4227, AA #9. Nothing cycled the action (questions below). Almost none of them even stripped a cartridge from the mag. None would come close to locking the bolt back on empty mag.

Details:
220 gr. Sierra Match kings, all rounds OAL 2.260” (just fitting into the magazine), CCI #400 primers. Shot from a bone stock weapon with no silencer. Surprisingly, all somewhat stablised….at least no tumbling.

Powder Grains Average FPS Accuracy Function
AA #9 8.6 804 best ??? No cycle, some stovepipes
AA #9 8.7 832 mediocre No cycle, ejection ok.
AA #9 8.8 1039 mediocre No cycle, ejection ok.
AA #9 9.4 1142 worst No cycle, ejection ok.
IMR 4227 10.5 1125 mediocre No cycle, ejection ok.

Barrel length = 16”
Gas Port = unknown diameter @ 8” (is that a carbine length?)

Questions:
How could the 804 FPS give the best accuracy? Weird…
I have read on this forum that some rifles need the silencer installed to cycle the action. Can I assume that a proper 308 silencer will add some muzzle back pressure to contribute to proper cycling?

BTW - I just shot some above rounds through my SilencerCo Osprey-45 (w/bushing and fixed barrel spacer), but no difference in function was observed. Pretty big hole through that can, though.