Loud subsonic rounds

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade

LEO

Loud subsonic rounds

Post by LEO »

I'm looking for help and sugestions. I am shooting my 300 Blackouot using Hornady brass, 150 gr BTSP Hornady bullets, 12gr. of CFE223, which is supposed to give me a bit over 900fps. I fire several rounds, they seem pretty good, not as quiet as I'd like, but not too bad. Then occaisionaly, I get a very loud, supersonic sounding round go off. This might happen several times out of a set of 20 or so shots. I checked , no baffle strikes to widen the suppressor, rounds are crimped. Any help or ideas would be appreciated. Thanks
ely

Re: Loud subsonic rounds

Post by ely »

im new to all this and not familar with the powder you are using, but just off the top of my head ,12grs seems a bit much for a 150 gr bullet, in subsonic, someone in the know will chime in shortly.
if you are close to the edge on subsonic the weather and humidity can push the rounds over the top. so i have read anyway. good luck and you will be happy when you get it dialed in.
LEO

Post by LEO »

Thank you. Did not consider atmospheric conditions, but I know that can affect sound travel. Good possibility. I was going to reduce the load, but wanted to have a starting point. Thanks
Whole Bunches
Silent But Deadly

Post by Whole Bunches »

I just looked up that powder and its applications, as I wasn't familiar with it. See http://www.hodgdon.com/new_prod.html

Now, this is just MY opinion, but it appears to be WAY too slow of a powder for the 300 BLK...no wonder your velocities appear to vary widely. I would suggest a faster burning powder, say 1680, H110, Little Gun or even a faster powder if being used in a bolt action or single shot gun.

Edited to add: http://data.hodgdon.com/cartridge_load.asp The powder make doesn't list that powder for use in the 300 BLK.
LEO

Post by LEO »

I was thinking of trying Unique. I'd try lil gun, but powder is hard to come by right now. My choices are limited.