Hunting load question

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade

MACM

Hunting load question

Post by MACM »

Hey fellas,

I'm new to hunting with 300blk (new to the 300blk in general really) so I apologize if this is something that has been hashed out already. Anyway, I keep seeing where many of you are using the 110 or 125gr BT's or SST's for your hunting loads. Has anyone ever tried a 150gr SST with any success on whitetails? The reason I ask is because I have a .270 and a .308 for shots over 100 yards, but every now and then I end up hunting some thick, thick woods with a max shot of 100 yards and have had bullets from both calibers deflect off a small (pinky size) branch, enough to miss the shot completely. No blood, no deer. This has only happened on 2 occasions, but both times were opportunities for big deer.

So...part of my reasoning for building a 300blk was thinking I could come up with a load for a 150gr bullet moving fast enough to reliably expand, but slow enough to "punch through" small branches. Similar to a 30-30. Is this even possible or do I just have a pipe dream? Thanks is advance!
randyrucker
Silent But Deadly

Re: Hunting load question

Post by randyrucker »

My personal opinion is 150 gr class bullets are to heavy to give a MV that will result in any meaningful expansion. I would use 110 gr or 125 gr with the blk out for hunting.
smustian
Silent But Deadly

Post by smustian »

randyrucker wrote:My personal opinion is 150 gr class bullets are to heavy to give a MV that will result in any meaningful expansion. I would use 110 gr or 125 gr with the blk out for hunting.
+1 My biggest concern is bullet performance when hunting. Most 30 caliber bullets need more velocity than the 300 Blk produces. Bullet profile also comes into play so it feeds from the magazine.
monzahunter
Silent But Deadly

Post by monzahunter »