300 bo subsonic and hunting help

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade

Msol

300 bo subsonic and hunting help

Post by Msol »

Hey ya'll I'm new to the 300 bo round (currently use 308, 6.5 grendel, and 6.5 Creedmoor) and wouls love some first hand insight into hunting with a 300 bo. I will be running it suppressed thus why wanting to use subsonic rounds. Shots are between 100 to 200 yards and wondering what specific barrel length would be my best choice. Originally I wanted to build a 9" barrel setup, but don't think that may be the best choice. Any sight is appreciated.
Msol

Re: 300 bo subsonic and hunting help

Post by Msol »

I'd be running LeHigh Defense 300 bo ammo either
194gr subsonic maximum expansion
Or
198gr subsonic controlled fracturing
gds
Silent But Deadly

Post by gds »

Pinned thread on the top of this subforum.
Yes, I am a Baptist, and yes I carry a gun. You might think I carry a gun because I don't trust God. Well you would be wrong. I have complete faith in my Lord. It is mankind I have no trust in
gds
Silent But Deadly

Post by gds »

Msol wrote: Sun Mar 08, 2020 11:56 am Hey ya'll I'm new to the 300 bo round (currently use 308, 6.5 grendel, and 6.5 Creedmoor) and wouls love some first hand insight into hunting with a 300 bo. I will be running it suppressed thus why wanting to use subsonic rounds. Shots are between 100 to 200 yards and wondering what specific barrel length would be my best choice. Originally I wanted to build a 9" barrel setup, but don't think that may be the best choice. Any sight is appreciated.
As Long as you use a properly designed bullet that expands at subsonic velocities, your only other concern is knowing the drop and knowing your distance.

Fail to follow either one of the above, will end up with either missed or wounded animals.

The 4 most important aspects of subsonic hunting

Bullet design
Bullet design
Shot Placement
Shot Placement