Handloading, what do I need to get started?

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade, bamachem

RMSMITH6

Handloading, what do I need to get started?

Post by RMSMITH6 »

I've been a member of this forum for less than a week and from everything I see handloading is the best way to get the most out of my 300 blk. What is everything thing I need to get started without breaking the bank? So far all I know is I'm leaning towards the Lee Classic for my press. Also I have zero experience handloading so please bear with me.
carboyvu

Re: Handloading, what do I need to get started?

Post by carboyvu »

https://www.midwayusa.com/product/74999 ... -press-kit

This is a pretty good deal. Has almost everything you need. Just need a good scale and case trimmer.
DoubleJ
Silent But Deadly

Post by DoubleJ »

You might want to cut your teeth on a straight wall pistol cartridge like 38 or 45 or something. Very simple way to learn before you move onto bottlenecks and headspacing and trimming and forming and such. Your best bet would be to find a local mentor, or even just take a class like Sportman's offers. Barring that, watch some tutorials by RCBS on Youtube, and read a reloading manual cover to cover. The first half is full of instructions, the second half is the load data.
I do not reply to posts with horrific grammar errors.

I do not reply to posts concerning the case mouth dent.
cwlongshot
Silent But Deadly

Post by cwlongshot »

PLEASE start with a good Manuel!

I like to recommend LYMAN's because they dont make Powder, Primers or bullets and they products that they use covers a good selection of other makers.

I agree YOU TUBE is a excellent recourse.

Good luck,

MERRY CHRISTmas,
CW
A Bolt, Single Shot and a few M$Rs

Join me on RUMBLE! Https://rumble.com/user/cwlongshot

https://youtube.com/channel/UCBOIIvlk30qD5a7xVLfmyfw

I PROUDLY SUPPORT LAW ENFORCEMENT & OUR TROOPS
dellet
Silent But Deadly

Post by dellet »

Start with a good book.