Highest Velosity for SUBSONIC loads

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade, bamachem

jcdflint

Highest Velosity for SUBSONIC loads

Post by jcdflint »

I'm new with 300 blk. What the highest velocity for subsonic loads. I been loading Sierra 110 HP (20.0 of H110) for coyotes with much luck..but would like to try a subsonic load for the fun of it :) Thanks ...Jeff
dellet
Silent But Deadly

Re: Highest Velosity for SUBSONIC loads

Post by dellet »

Depends on where you will be shooting. During the summer months in Libya you could get away with 1180 fps.

Winter in Siberia on the other extreme it would only be about 900 fps. :mrgreen:

1050 fps is a good safe number that will give you some room for the velocity fluctuations that always happen. They will be noticeably quieter around 1000.

Temperature is the biggest factor for the changing speed, colder is a lower threshold.
300 Blackout, not just for sub-sonics.
jcdflint

Post by jcdflint »

Thanks dellet ...:)
cdl
Senior Silent Operator

Post by cdl »

The speed of sound in air is mostly temperature dependent, but since the air over the bullet speeds up as it compresses in front of the bullet, near sonic, but still subsonic bullets can still crack. In practice it's not so much a particular speed as a range above the standard deviation of the load where things start to get noisy and then too noisy for you. I like to load to an average velocity around 1000 fps.

In my ballistic spreadsheet I use this formula as a guide:

Speed of sound(fps)=(331.4+0.6*_TC)*3.28084

where _TC is the Temp in Celsius.
Netpackrat
Silent But Deadly

Post by Netpackrat »

Yeah... Yesterday at the turkey day family gathering, we were plinking .22s at the hillside but had to curtail our 300 Blackout shooting, because it was cold enough for the Remington factory subs (green/yellow box) to go supersonic out of a 9" barrel. The temperature got down to about 7F while we were there.
jcdflint

Post by jcdflint »

Thanks everyone :)
ncorry