208 A-max vs 220g anything

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade, bamachem

drooster

208 A-max vs 220g anything

Post by drooster »

Just thought I would see what yall think about which of these two bullets weights is the best the way to go. The 208g A-max go for about 25 cents a piece if you are lucky and the 220 are maybe 10 cents more - ish. The point is the 220s are a good bit more expensive. I think, but am not sure (and I have not killed anything with the 208s) that the A-max will expand more quickly under these subsonic speeds than the SMK type open tip bullets. Correct me if I am wrong cause I am still pretty new to handloading and guns in general. Furthermore, I dont find any 220g bullets out there that are not open tip or FMJ. But....to keep the 208s subsonic you have to go with such a wimpy load of powder such as 10.8 of A1680. Not much punch to that round and now you have cycling issues. With the 220s, however, you can pack in more powder, more punch and still stay subsonic and be less likely to have cycling issues. If they made an A-max that weighed 220 or thereabouts, that was reasonably priced, it seems to me that that would be the winner hands down, but that not being the case, which is better folks?
gds
Silent But Deadly

Re: 208 A-max vs 220g anything

Post by gds »