New to loading, simple question.

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade, bamachem

Kryckter

New to loading, simple question.

Post by Kryckter »

So, I am new to loading. I have gotten the required tools/press, etc.

However, in learning the setup I have tried loading one to get my dies setup, etc without powder. I see alot of peoples post on OAL length for 300 blackout that is right around 2" for a 125 gr. sierra bullet.

How are you guys measuring OAL? Is it using a tool such as this with a 308 insert:
http://www.midwayusa.com/product/709931 ... roductDesc

I also see some load data with OAL length around 2.2". Im assuming that is from tip to tip. Which way is better?

Also, do you guys use an overall length gauge to measure your gun to get the optimum length?

Just looking for a little insight on this process. Thanks in advance.
Twistomatic
Silent Operator

Re: New to loading, simple question.

Post by Twistomatic »

We use a Caliper.

They are digital or use a dial indicator.

You must get one.

Try your local Lowes or Home Depot. I got one at Harbor Freight Tools. They can cost from $18.00 to $30.00. Any amount over that and you are paying to much.
Twistomatic and some Black Magic.
Kryckter

Post by Kryckter »

Twistomatic wrote:We use a Caliper.

They are digital or use a dial indicator.

You must get one.

Try your local Lowes or Home Depot. I got one at Harbor Freight Tools. They can cost from $18.00 to $30.00. Any amount over that and you are paying to much.
Thanks for the response.

I do have a caliper though. Just trying to figure out the best way to measure the OAL. I loaded one as a test using someones guide for 2.040" for OAL with the sierra 125 gr bullet. Me being new, assumed this measurement meant tip to tip. Im pretty sure this is incorrect because the bullet looks way to far down in the brass...
BradV
Silent Operator

Post by BradV »

I am also fairly new to reloading myself.