Subsonic trail boss powder recipe

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade, bamachem

HunterLen

Subsonic trail boss powder recipe

Post by HunterLen »

First, let me go ahead and get this out of the way. Im new to the reloading world, so forgive me if I say something that leaves you scratching your head. Im looking for a recipe to load 194 grain Lehigh Defense, using trail boss powder, in a 300 blk Ruger American Bolt action rifle 16" barrel 1:7 RH twist. Thanks in advance for any information.
dellet
Silent But Deadly

Re: Subsonic trail boss powder recipe

Post by dellet »

Basically the reason you won't find data is that it is a very poor combination of powder and bullet.

The bullet is too long, and powder so fluffy that you can't get enough in the case for decent velocity. You might be able to seat the bullet very long and shoot single shot. There are plenty of other powders. Tin Star works like Trail Boss with half the bulk.
300 Blackout, not just for sub-sonics.
HunterLen

Post by HunterLen »

Thanks for the input. Do you have a recipe for the Tin Star, I have some of that powder as well
gds
Silent But Deadly

Post by gds »

dellet wrote: Thu Jan 07, 2021 12:57 pm Basically the reason you won't find data is that it is a very poor combination of powder and bullet.

The bullet is too long, and powder so fluffy that you can't get enough in the case for decent velocity. You might be able to seat the bullet very long and shoot single shot. There are plenty of other powders. Tin Star works like Trail Boss with half the bulk.
What he said, plus I have tried trail boss with some long bullets and the next morning the bullets were almost pushed out if thr case. Now for lighter bullets, trail boss is outstanding.
Yes, I am a Baptist, and yes I carry a gun. You might think I carry a gun because I don't trust God. Well you would be wrong. I have complete faith in my Lord. It is mankind I have no trust in
dellet
Silent But Deadly

Post by dellet »