Hello everyone. Newby here, have 2 - 300 blackouts

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade, bamachem

Planetharris

Hello everyone. Newby here, have 2 - 300 blackouts

Post by Planetharris »

Hey. So, I'll state up front, 300 blackout and 6.5 creedmoor are my 2 favorite rifles right now (pistol for 1 of then) I have a 10.5" and 8.5" 300's. Have quite a few other guns, but won't list them all. Anyways, the reason I signed up, is I have a question on reloading. I've been reloading for a couple of months, using both the cheap 125gr stuff and 120gr tac tx. My main goal was to be the most accurate loads, so have been going up and down the river per say with h110 to find the best load and overall lengths. But then something hit me. So the question is. Since we know the BO is really a 200-300 yard shooter, why do we not load for max speed? Let's say for instance, I'm 100 yards sub MOA with my 10.5" at 2000ish fps (haven't got that far with 8.5" testing yet). This is just an example, not true numbers. Let's say we can make the 120gr tac tx run 2300 fps, yet gives us 1.5 MOA. Sure quite a bit of difference at the face value. But the overall distance of ability to kill a deer per say, just went up. So let's say now, we are at 5-6" spread at 400 yards. Still not bad if now we can keep the drop from falling so much. Get what I'm asking? I've been worrying about accuracy on my 300, even though I know I'll never shoot past 400 yards for anything. So wouldn't speed be king? Thanks for your answers and if that's a stupid question, I'm not a ❄ so have at it.
20X11
Silent But Deadly

Re: Hello everyone. Newby here, have 2 - 300 blackouts

Post by 20X11 »

Shot placement has a lot to do with lethality, regardless of the target. I prefer repeatable shot placement over a couple hundred extra fps. YMMV
tallburnedmidget
Silent But Deadly

Post by tallburnedmidget »