oye... the blind leading the blind - or soon to be blind :/

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade, bamachem

plant.one
Silent But Deadly

oye... the blind leading the blind - or soon to be blind :/

Post by plant.one »

i have a buddy whos only reloaded straight wall pistol in the past. we've talked about it for a bit and he wants to get into it more and learn to do rifle stuff too ... the right way... i guess a friend of his was going to help him learn to reload rifle stuff a year or so back, but they only did a few 223 rounds up (30 or so) and then set them aside and he - thankfully - never fired them.

i advised him to pull those down a start over - since he got advice from a total newbie and was unsure of the safety anyway (which is why he never fired them). so he starts pulling down those loads.... i get a txt asking me if 25 grains of powder is about right for a 55gr fmj. 'yea that sounds about right for some powders max load, but would depend on the powder'. i get a pic of a jug of 700x, I-4198 & titegroup (which he had used for 9mm/45). two of the cases had 4198 in them (25 grains) and the rest had 700x in them - also 25 grains :shock: :shock: :shock:

yikes! :shock: :shock: :shock:

so i get off work and head over with a bottle of Founders CBS (YUM!) and my old vibratory tumbler to let him clean up some brass to get started... i get there and hes resizing and depriming dirty cases without lube. :-X Being used to carbide pistol dies he didnt even have any case lube on hand. he somehow managed to not stick a case of the 30 or so he did before i got there. but he almost pulled his press off the little nightstand he was using for a press table - and managed to crack one side of it and had to remount his press on the other side.