New to Group and New to Reloading

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade, bamachem

NativeTexan1944

New to Group and New to Reloading

Post by NativeTexan1944 »

Good Day Folks. Thanks to the Admins for adding me. I'm finding the group all fascinating.

I just acquired a 300 black pistol: 10.5 inch barrel. I would like to hunt with my AR pistol at 100-150 yards max. I realize it can shoot farther but my old eyes aren't what they used to be.

I currently shoot Remington 120 gr OTFB rounds for practice and Barnes Vortex TAC-TX 120 gr BT Copper rounds for hunting (2150 fps - 16 inch bbl). I realize the speed would be a little less than that out of 10.5 inch bbl.
I would like to reload and duplicate the Barnes Ballistics with a cheap bullet for practice.

I am new to reloading so any help would be appreciated.

NativeTexan1944
In God We Trust
smustian
Silent But Deadly

Re: New to Group and New to Reloading

Post by smustian »

Get some 125g SST bullets in bulk. Get some H110/W296. Lots of online data available. Load your ladder and do some testing. Once you find your best load, you will have a relatively cheap practice round BUT it can be used for hunting as well. The 125 SST has been field proven many times over.
blaster
Silent But Deadly

Post by blaster »

^ this!
peace through superior firepower
rebel
Silent But Deadly

Post by rebel »

This and.....
Work up your H110/W296 a bit at a time. Watch for pressure signs - heavy ejector swipes, flattened primers ( use google images for a visual ). Get a load manual if you don't have one, Hornady 10 works. The SST has a proven track record with COALs of 2.10 to 2.12. That I will give you but read, learn and develop your charge weight and report back.
I'd rather have you here as someone that developed a load and needed it tweaked than starting you from scratch. Won't learn anything that way. Have fun and welcome.
You can't beat the mountain, pilgrim. Mountains got its own way.
NativeTexan1944