Powder Selection - Slow supersonic plinking load

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade, bamachem

dajesterman

Powder Selection - Slow supersonic plinking load

Post by dajesterman »

Good Afternoon!

I've been consuming the great information on this forum for the past 3 or 4 years and finally have a question I don't think has been asked. But first, thank you for all of the collective knowledge that has been passed along thus far. I have learned a ton lurking.

I am looking to develop a low power load for general plinking and close range use on steel (20-25 yds). I plan to use the plated Accura Outdoors 120gr projectile (~0.12 ea) out of a 10.5" LMT SBR (pistol length gas system, 1:7 twist) with a suppressor and would like to limit the energy as much as possible to hopefully save my steel from pitting and increase safety.

I've read that going below published loads can product unexpected pressure issues on some powders but I would like to slow the projectile below the 1900 FPS I see in most lower limit powder charges while also maintaining reliable cycling.

I plan to load these round on an XL650 with Dillon powder measure and have Titegroup, W296, Lil Gun, and Trail Boss on hand. I'm happy to buy another powder but one of the powders I already have would be preferable.

What powder would be best to download in order to reduce velocity while still maintaining the correct gas volume and bullet stabilization?

Thanks!
AggieJim
Silent Operator

Re: Powder Selection - Slow supersonic plinking load

Post by AggieJim »

http://www.hodgdonreloading.com/data/rifle

Look at 300 Blackout Loads for 208 Gr. Hornady A-Max and 220 Gr Sierra HPBT.

Both have velocities around 1,050 FPS and use either Winchester 296 or Hodgdon Lil'Gun.
wildfowler
Silent But Deadly

Post by wildfowler »

dajesterman wrote:Good Afternoon!

What powder would be best to download in order to reduce velocity while still maintaining the correct gas volume and bullet stabilization?

Thanks!
Probably 1680?