Powder Shootout. CFE Black vs A1680

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade, bamachem

alamo5000
Silent But Deadly

Powder Shootout. CFE Black vs A1680

Post by alamo5000 »

As you guys know I am brand new to 300 Black.

Honestly I am quite the prepper (I try to avoid the term hoarder) when it comes to ammo. Once I find stuff that I like I will stock up and just buy a couple of #8lb jugs of what I like.

Usually I just get a #1lb bottle of the powders I want to try and test before I commit, but for some reason my local stores do not carry either of these powders.

I will be loading primarily subsonics, but I do not rule out the possibility of chasing down some impressive supers too at some point. Do these two powders have any real difference to them? Where would one shine and the other not so much? At this point I am almost convinced that I couldn't go wrong buying #8lbs of each. I know, I know. That is a LOT of shooting. By my count with 16 pounds of powder I could get around 9,000 rounds made up.

This is not a bad thing. Once I settle on good bullets I will do everything I can to buy in bulk. Then again maybe just one #8lb jug would do me for a while.

Are there any other proven powders that I should try? Reloader 7 maybe? I ask about this one because I see published data showing subsonic performance with 165 to 180 grain bullets, which I can get those bullets in bulk packs for a lot cheaper.

I have #1lb of H110 which is pretty much the only powder I have now for 300 BLK. So far I have nothing to complain about except I am having a hard time getting subsonic velocities out of it. H110 is the sole powder I have tried so far.

If I absolutely must, and I absolutely cannot find a store anywhere near me that can get 1lb containers of each powder in I might have to bite the bullet and pay hazmat, shipping and so forth for something I've never laid eyes on.