Primers falling out

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade, bamachem

Oldhand

Primers falling out

Post by Oldhand »

Hello, I'm new to 300 Blackout but have reloaded for thirty years. I heard one of the manufacturers of ammo for this caliber had a recall of their ammo for primers falling out. I have noticed on the Remington cases I have on hand some have an ordinary bottom and some have imprints around the primers pinching in the surrounding metal. I guess this is to hold in the primers. After removing the old primer and reaming the pocket round again is there something else required to hold in the primers?
Oldhand

Re: Primers falling out

Post by Oldhand »

I guess I should add I am using CCI small rifle primers, which seat the same as any other primer I have used. Guess I can just go out Friday and see what happens. I am using Nosler Custom Competition 168 grain HPBT over 18.8 grains of Accurate 1680. Using this bullet as it is what I have on hand from my .308.
dellet
Silent But Deadly

Post by dellet »

Oldhand wrote:I guess I should add I am using CCI small rifle primers, which seat the same as any other primer I have used. Guess I can just go out Friday and see what happens. I am using Nosler Custom Competition 168 grain HPBT over 18.8 grains of Accurate 1680. Using this bullet as it is what I have on hand from my .308.
The primers were staked when Barnes started loading for Remington, there had been a few problems.

As far as your load, I am not familiar with the Nosler 168, but I am enough with that weight and powder. As long as you are not severely compressed, or jammed into the lands, if your chamber and gas system are in spec, then there would be no reason for a primer to pop.
300 Blackout, not just for sub-sonics.
Oldhand

Post by Oldhand »