Subsonic bullet recommendation

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade, bamachem

wscrst

Subsonic bullet recommendation

Post by wscrst »

Greetings. In my first post, I was trying to figure out why my 300 blackout was only shooting intermittently subsonic. Bad ammo is the answer. I got great info from some great folks and the thread ended with me realizing that I am going to have to handload if I want this suppressed endeavor to work well.

I am very new to 300 blackout and I assumed that I had to have 220grain bullets to go subsonic. Scattered reading suggests that this may not be the case and that I may have some choices. I would like to ask for a recommendation of a bullet that that can get me started with handloading. My goals are subsonic and target shooting and less cash if possible. I have a REV ARMS AR with a 16 inch barrel. I realize that experimentation will be very needed for excellent results. However, can someone recommend a reasonable bullet as a starting point. Thanks. I am listening and learning with each post.
Recoil737
Senior Silent Operator

Re: Subsonic bullet recommendation

Post by Recoil737 »

wscrst wrote:Greetings. In my first post, I was trying to figure out why my 300 blackout was only shooting intermittently subsonic. Bad ammo is the answer. I got great info from some great folks and the thread ended with me realizing that I am going to have to handload if I want this suppressed endeavor to work well.