Max Speed To Expand

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade

Newbie2This

Max Speed To Expand

Post by Newbie2This »

Hello and sorry if this question has been asked before. I did a search on the forum but could not find a similar question.
I am new to this so please feel free to call me an idiot if I don't get a concept or if am wrong way outside the ballpark, am here to learn what I don't know so I don't mind.

If I shoot a bullet within a 20 yard range, is there a speed where a hollow point or soft tip bullet is leaving the muzzle at such a high speed that it will go right through something before it can expand?
Or will the bullet expand at any speed that is above it's recommended minimum velocity???

Like I said IF this has been hashed before am sorry but please point me in the right direction on how to find this out.

Thanks in advance
dellet
Silent But Deadly

Re: Max Speed To Expand

Post by dellet »

Newbie2This wrote: Tue Feb 25, 2020 10:10 am Hello and sorry if this question has been asked before. I did a search on the forum but could not find a similar question.
I am new to this so please feel free to call me an idiot if I don't get a concept or if am wrong way outside the ballpark, am here to learn what I don't know so I don't mind.

If I shoot a bullet within a 20 yard range, is there a speed where a hollow point or soft tip bullet is leaving the muzzle at such a high speed that it will go right through something before it can expand?
Or will the bullet expand at any speed that is above it's recommended minimum velocity???

Like I said IF this has been hashed before am sorry but please point me in the right direction on how to find this out.

Thanks in advance
I accept.
You're an idiot :mrgreen:

Kind of a trick question, but the answer is "it depends", on a few things. How the bullet was designed, the speed and what it hits.