Remington 700 AAC-SD Heavy Barrel mislabeled twist rate

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade

skydiver41
Silent Operator

Remington 700 AAC-SD Heavy Barrel mislabeled twist rate

Post by skydiver41 »

Greetings all. A few years ago I came across a used Remington 700 Tactical AAC-sd 16 inch heavy barrel (threaded muzzle with 51t AAC suppressor mount) in good condition in a local gun store. The price was right so I grabbed it and happily added it to my collection. It sat in the safe for quite some time. Recently I started shooting it.

I read somewhere that some of the rifles were actually sold with 1:10 in twist barrels even though they are labeled 1:7. Since I was cleaning the rifle tonight after today's session at the range I figured I might as well do the "twist rate/patch test". Sure enough...I appear to have one of the aforementioned rifles as mine measures 1:10 even though it is clearly stamped 1:7 on the barrel. What recourse if any do I have?

Thanks in advance.

Mike
rlandry6
Silent But Deadly

Re: Remington 700 AAC-SD Heavy Barrel mislabeled twist rate

Post by rlandry6 »

Why would you think there should be any recourse? You bought a used rifle, as is, years ago. Have a gunsmith verify the twist rate if you are unsure, go out and enjoy it with ammo that is compatible with the actual twist rate.
Bitter Gun Owner
Bitter Clinger
ArmedInfidel
dellet
Silent But Deadly

Post by dellet »

Call Remington, at the time they would replace the rifle no questions asked, no proof of purchase required. Because of the time that has passed it may be different now. The call is free. Some people had two or three sent before they got a correct one. So if you go that route make sure to check.

The side note is have you shot it yet?