300 AAC BLACKOUT FAQ

Discussion about rifles in 300 AAC BLACKOUT (7.62x35mm), hosted by the creator of the cartridge.

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade

Bugg77
Silent Operator
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 10:27 am

Re: 300 AAC BLACKOUT FAQ

Post by Bugg77 » Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:37 am

GrkPranksta69 wrote:The only difference between an AR shooting 5.56 versus 300 BLK would be just the barrel right? Would it just be easier to switch out the barrel to go from one to another or just buy the 300 BLK upper as a whole and switch off between the two? Thanks
Switching the upper would be much easier for most AR15s. I think the SCAR and a few other systems may have a quick-change barrel, but you're better off having a separate upper for each caliber in the AR platform.

BulletFlight for Android
User avatar
hapidogbreath
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 5:33 pm
Location: Pa

Re: 300 AAC BLACKOUT FAQ

Post by hapidogbreath » Mon Jan 30, 2012 11:21 am

Quick thought...... I reload and would like to "tune my round to drop the brass in a neat pile next to the bench. That being said I will be using a Wells Custom Can and shooting both sub and super. Would an adjustable gas block be something I should look at for the build? There are so many choices out there and I would hate to put everything together and have to change it. :?:

30Whisper
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 1:03 pm
Location: Nashville, Tn

Re: 300 AAC BLACKOUT FAQ

Post by 30Whisper » Thu Feb 09, 2012 1:27 pm

I have a question that most likely has been addressed previously but I have been playing with subsonic 208 gr and was wondering if anyone had suggested powder loads, type of powder and case length.
I have been loading 300 whisper subsonic for a while and those loads don't seem to perform well in the BLK out.
B

AccuracyARs
Silent Operator
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 8:44 pm

Re: 300 AAC BLACKOUT FAQ

Post by AccuracyARs » Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:32 am

30Whisper wrote:I have a question that most likely has been addressed previously but I have been playing with subsonic 208 gr and was wondering if anyone had suggested powder loads, type of powder and case length.
I have been loading 300 whisper subsonic for a while and those loads don't seem to perform well in the BLK out.
B
This type of post baffles me in that the chambers for the 300 Whisper and the 300 AAC Blackout are (as far as I can tell) so close that for all intended purposes they are nearly identical. It seems to me the issue must be one of different barrels and/or porting and not the chambers. Anyone have any input on this?

Robert

Average_Casey
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 4:39 am

Re: 300 AAC BLACKOUT FAQ

Post by Average_Casey » Thu Feb 16, 2012 4:43 am

I was curious what the maximum effective range of the supersonic version of the 300 AAC blackout?

User avatar
300Blk
Site Admin
Posts: 7329
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 9:31 am
Location: USA

Re: 300 AAC BLACKOUT FAQ

Post by 300Blk » Thu Feb 16, 2012 8:42 am

460 meters.

AccuracyARs
Silent Operator
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 8:44 pm

Re: 300 AAC BLACKOUT FAQ

Post by AccuracyARs » Thu Feb 16, 2012 11:37 pm

Hitting something at 460 meters would mean a pretty high arc with the bullet for sure. Certainly a "trick shot" if you were not normally dialed in to do work at that distance with the 300 BLK.

User avatar
Sdustin
Silent But Deadly
Posts: 334
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: Ga

Re: 300 AAC BLACKOUT FAQ

Post by Sdustin » Fri Feb 17, 2012 5:32 am

I think effective means it would kill if it did hit them, like the mil has a standard for energy for "effective"
When guns are outlawed only outlaws will have guns

hunter2
Silent But Deadly
Posts: 649
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:07 am
Location: WESTERN KY

Re: 300 AAC BLACKOUT FAQ

Post by hunter2 » Thu Mar 01, 2012 9:21 pm

Which companies do the conversion from 300-221 to blk.? Delta Company Arms did my first one but now they are hard to get a hold of. Wanting to change my TC over. Contacted one company and they wanted $137. I will keep it the way it is for that. any help appreciated.

User avatar
300Blk
Site Admin
Posts: 7329
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 9:31 am
Location: USA

Re: 300 AAC BLACKOUT FAQ

Post by 300Blk » Fri Mar 02, 2012 12:42 pm

Buy a reamer, do it yourself, sell the reamer as used once to do a conversion.

Post Reply