How many reloads do you get before you have to trim your cases of 300 blkout? What do you trim down to?

Discussion about rifles in 300 AAC BLACKOUT (7.62x35mm), hosted by the creator of the cartridge.

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade

Biglou62

How many reloads do you get before you have to trim your cases of 300 blkout? What do you trim down to?

Post by Biglou62 »

I'm new to reloading 300blkout. I would like to know how many firings are everyone getting before they have to trim their cases. I just ran through my first 4,000 cases and now this is going to be my first time reloading them. I just formed them and trim them all down to 1.358. So I'm just wondering what to expect on how many reloads I can get without having to trim them again. I'm assuming that I will most likely have to measure a handful after each shooting and reloading session to make an accurate judgement of my own. But I would still like to know what others out there are getting. Thanks for your replies.
strobro32
Silent But Deadly

Re: How many reloads do you get before you have to trim your cases of 300 blkout? What do you trim down to?

Post by strobro32 »

Are you loading subs ar HV?
I have never needed to trim the cases. The primer pockets wear out first. HV can ware the primer pockets faster.
If it doesn't splatter, shatter, burst, boing or explode, it's not worth shooting.
plant.one
Silent But Deadly

Re: How many reloads do you get before you have to trim your cases of 300 blkout? What do you trim down to?

Post by plant.one »

usually after one firing you shouldnt need to trim... however... you'll have to check them.

case neck growth can vary based on a number of things, including but not limited to your specific load - ie: were they hot or fairly mild? etc

id say if you randomly sample 50 or so after you resize them you should be able to get a rough idea of where you're at as far as case length at this point

hth