Subsonic setup question

Discussion about rifles in 300 AAC BLACKOUT (7.62x35mm), hosted by the creator of the cartridge.

Moderators: gds, bakerjw, renegade

Gimli

Subsonic setup question

Post by Gimli »

I posted this in an existing thread in the AR-15 forum a few days ago and so far haven't had a response. Since there seems to be more traffic in this forum, I'm re-asking it here.
Gimli wrote:Hi, new here. Sorry to bring back an old thread, but I'm completely new to AR-15's and trying to learn. I've decided to build a 300 blackout and I have read through this thread.

Is it fair to say that, for a 16" barrel, the most likely combination to work reliably with suppressed sub-sonics and unsuppressed super-sonics is a pistol length gas system and an H2 carbine buffer?

Thanks in advance. I'm sure I'll be doing much more reading here :)
smustian
Silent But Deadly

Re: Subsonic setup question

Post by smustian »

Should work or you might have to go to a carbine buffer. Try it and see.
hardcase
Silent But Deadly

Post by hardcase »

Gimli wrote:I posted this in an existing thread in the AR-15 forum a few days ago and so far haven't had a response. Since there seems to be more traffic in this forum, I'm re-asking it here.
Gimli wrote:Hi, new here. Sorry to bring back an old thread, but I'm completely new to AR-15's and trying to learn. I've decided to build a 300 blackout and I have read through this thread.

Is it fair to say that, for a 16" barrel, the most likely combination to work reliably with suppressed sub-sonics and unsuppressed super-sonics is a pistol length gas system and an H2 carbine buffer?

Thanks in advance. I'm sure I'll be doing much more reading here :)
Your choice is what I use. Reloading gives you the most options.
Dolomite_Supafly
Silent But Deadly

Post by Dolomite_Supafly »

I would add an adjustable gas block to the gun so you can tune it for what you are shooting.
WWW.thegunmilitia.com

Come join the militia!
dellet
Silent But Deadly